Moderator of the General Assembly

The Moderator of the General Assembly of the United Free Church is not the leader of the United Free Church of Scotland, nor is the Moderator the head of the Church: that belongs to Jesus Christ. The role is an honorary one, held for 12 months after chairing the General Assembly. He or she is ultimately responsible for travelling as a United Free Church representative in Scotland, other parts of the UK and overseas in an ambassadorial capacity. Every Moderator carries out a series of visits to several United Free Churches. The Moderator of the 2023 General Assembly is Rev Andy Downie. He can be contacted at Moderator

Principal Clerks

The role of the Principal Clerks is to act as the Clerks to the General Assembly, which includes advising the Assembly and the Moderator on church practice and procedure. They also serve as ex officio members of all the Committees of the General Assembly. The Principal Clerks also supports the Moderator throughout the year as well as providing training courses and advice on practice and procedures to Kirk Sessions, Presbyteries, ministers and other church bodies. The current Clerks are Rev Martin C Keane and Rev Colin C Brown who can be contacted at Principal Clerks


The day to day administrative support to the Committees of the General Assembly and the administration of the wider denomination is carried out from the Church Offices in Newton Place Glasgow. Any questions, or communications should be addressed to the Principal Clerks, 11 Newton Place, Glasgow, G3 7PR. Tel: 0141 332 3435

General Assembly Committees


Convener:            Rev Alexander Ritchie

Vice Convener:    Miss Anne Bryce

Vice Convener:    Rev Martin Whitehead


Convener:          Rev Gordon Mackenzie

Vice Convener:   Rev Tom McWhirter

Vice Convener:  Mr Duncan Whitty

Christian Life and Mission

Convener            Rev Nathan Owens

Vice Convener:  Rev Jason Lingiah

Vice Convener:  Rev Phil Steed